What You Should Know About Legal Recreational Cannabis Use In New Mexico

Recreational cannabis possession and use will become legal in New Mexico for adults 21 and older on Tuesday. But a legal market for the manufacture and sale of cannabis and cannabis products is still months away.

Here’s what consumers need to know about the portion of the law that goes into effect Tuesday.

Question: Who can buy and own cannabis – and how much can you buy?

Reply: Adults 21 and older can purchase and own up to 2 ounces of cannabis or 16 ounces of cannabis extract, or up to 800 milligrams of edible cannabis at one time. The residents can have a larger supply in their houses.

Question: When does it start?

Reply: Private recreational use becomes legal on June 29th. Licenses to sell cannabis are expected to be issued by April 1st.

Question: As a recreational consumer, where can I buy legal cannabis in the meantime?

Reply: You can not. No types of recreational cannabis businesses are legal. It is also illegal to move cannabis across state lines. So, while you can legally purchase products from licensed stores in other states, you cannot legally bring it home.

Question: Can I grow at home for personal use?

Reply: Yes – up to six plants for an individual or 12 plants for a household with two or more adults over the age of 21.

Question: Do i need a permit to grow at home?

Reply: No. All you need is seeds.

Question: Is It Easy To Grow Cannabis At Home?

Reply: Experts, farmers and grow-at-home people say no. There are a number of online sources, including YouTube videos, with tips on how to grow.

Question: Can I use it in public?

Reply: No. However, there are plans to create approved cannabis use areas in the future.

Question: How much will recreational cannabis cost?

Reply: State officials say the market will determine that price across the board. The state health department says the price of a gram of medicinal cannabis ranged from $ 9.25 to $ 11.64 in fiscal 2020.

Question: What role do local governments play in this?

Reply: Cities, municipalities, and counties can impose restrictions on the location of shops and opening hours for cannabis companies. But officials cannot directly ban cannabis companies.

Question: Can anyone apply for a license to produce, sell, or transfer cannabis?

Reply: Eligible to apply are people aged 21 and over who have no previous conviction for a crime in the workplace such as fraud or embezzlement. Other criminal convictions can also affect eligibility.

Question: How much does a license cost?

Reply: The rules are still being worked out, but a proposal is that licenses for larger cannabis producers, manufacturers, retailers, and those who wish to run cannabis testing and research laboratories will cost $ 2,500 per year, with an additional $ 1,000 fee for every location. Smaller businesses would pay just $ 500 a year, or up to $ 2,500 for a multi-operation license.

Question: What do I need to apply for a trade license?

Reply: Producers need legal proof of water rights. All businesses need a facility for growing, manufacturing, or selling cannabis and a security system, including a vault and security cameras.

Question: When can I apply for a license to produce, manufacture or sell cannabis?

Reply: The opening date for applications is September 1, but state officials are hoping for an earlier date, perhaps as early as mid-July.

Question: Will there be a limit on crop production for producers and manufacturers?

Reply: Yes, at least until the end of 2025. The proposed rules for larger farms include plant number ranges for several production stages with a maximum plant number of 4,500. Micro-farmers can obtain licenses to grow up to 100 or up to 200 plants.

Question: How will the new recreational cannabis laws work with the current medical cannabis program?

Reply: Current medical cannabis companies can apply for a dual license to manufacture and sell recreational cannabis. Additionally, the proposed rules would require recreational cannabis retailers to make at least 25 percent of their products available to medical cannabis patients to address concerns about supply bottlenecks.

Question: If I’m a medical cannabis patient, should I keep my card and stay in the program?

Reply: Yes. Under the new law, a certain amount of cannabis will not be taxed for patients in the medical program, while all recreational cannabis will be taxed.

Question: While recreational cannabis use is legal in New Mexico and some other states, isn’t it still banned by federal law?

Reply: Yes. FBI spokesman Frank Fisher wrote in an email: “Marijuana is illegal under federal law, whether or not a state decriminalizes it. Incidents related to marijuana will be investigated by the FBI, as resources allow. “

Question: Does that mean federal law enforcement agencies could step up enforcement of federal laws banning cannabis?

Reply: Carlos Briano, a spokesman for the Drug Enforcement Administration, wrote in an email: “The DEA does not target drug users just because they are drug users. We focus our efforts on criminal organizations, violent criminals and serious drug traffickers. ”Still, he said, anyone who owns or markets a controlled substance could face federal prosecution. Those who transfer cannabis across state lines are at the greatest risk, he added.

Question: How many states have legalized recreational cannabis?

Reply: It currently has 18 states and the District of Columbia – though not all have started sales yet. This year alone, five – Connecticut, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, and Virginia – have approved legalization.

Question: Where can I find out more about the proposed rules for businesses?

Reply: Visit the Cannabis Control Division of the State Regulatory and Licensing Division at ccd.rld.state.nm.us.

Source link

You May Also Like